Board of Directors

Telstra Super Pty Ltd has a Board of Directors who are responsible for the management and operation of Telstra Super Pty Ltd.  The Board of Directors consists of an equal number of employer and member representatives and an independent Chairman.


The Directors are responsible for making sure your superannuation is administered according to the rules set out under the Telstra Super Trust Deed and that Telstra Super complies with all applicable law.

The Board of Directors' responsibilities include:

  • ensuring the rights and interests of members are protected
  • the correct and timely payment of benefits
  • the proper investment of Telstra Super assets
  • providing regular communication to members.

The staff of Telstra Super Pty Ltd assist the Board of Directors to meet these responsibilities. 

Visit the Governance and Disclosure page for further information about our Directors and Senior Management Team.

How are Directors appointed?

A Member Director can only be appointed after being nominated in writing by the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU). The ACTU must agree to a Member Director's terms of appointment being determined, varied or terminated unless the Director dies, retires, resigns or becomes disqualified to continue as a Director.

All Employer Directors are appointed after being nominated in writing by Telstra. Alternate Employer Directors have also been nominated by Telstra to vote and act in the absence of appointed Employer Directors.

The Chairman may only be appointed, removed or have the terms of appointment varied upon the resolution of directors. 

Current Directors 

Following are profiles of Telstra Super's current Directors.

Image of David Leggo
David Leggo (Chairman)

Mr Leggo is the former long-serving chair of AvSuper. He is a respected superannuation leader and was recognised in March 2010 as 'Trustee of the Year' by the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees.

Mr Leggo spent 35 years of his professional career in the aviation industry, retiring in 2007 from the position of Operations Director, Air Traffic Control at Melbourne Airport. He was a member of the Rotary International Businessman's Study Exchange and served on the Board of Overnewton Anglican Community College.

Mr Leggo was appointed as chairman of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in July 2010.

Bronwyn Clere (Employer Director)

Ms Clere is Executive Director of Capital Planning for Telstra Corporation Ltd. Prior to joining Telstra in 2012, she has spent over 25 years in the Financial Services industry in transformation, operations management, finance and change roles with organisations such as JP Morgan in Australia and New Zealand, AIA in Hong Kong and AXA in Australia, New Zealand and the United Kingdom.

Ms Clere is an experienced project practitioner who is an active member of a number of external key project management networks and special interest groups. She is a graduate of the Australian Graduate School of Management and is currently completing her Masters of Project Management.

Ms Clere was appointed as a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in December 2013.


Mark Hall (Employer Director)

Mr Hall is Deputy CFO and Group Managing Director Finance at Telstra Corporation Ltd and has worked in various finance, planning and performance analysis roles for the company since joining in 1992. He has held and continues to hold numerous Directorships for Telstra Group companies both domestically and overseas. Prior to Telstra, he worked in chartered accounting, for the Commonwealth Government and Australian Airlines.

Mr Hall holds a commerce degree from the University of Melbourne and a Graduate Diploma in Taxation from the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology.

Mr Hall was appointed a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in January 2012 and is Chairman of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

David Kirton (Employer Director)

Mr Kirton is Executive Director Global Enterprise Services Transformation and Commercial Operations at Telstra Corporation Ltd, and has worked in a range of Telstra business units at an Executive level since joining Telstra in 1998.

Mr Kirton holds a Bachelor of Commerce and is a Certified Practising Accountant (CPA).

Mr Kirton was appointed a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in September 2012.

Gregg Rowley (Employer Director)

Mr Rowley is Executive Director of Strategy & Operations at Telstra Innovation, Products & Marketing. Prior to joining Telstra in 2010, he has worked in the telecommunications industry for over twenty years in both Australia and Asia, including being VP Asia Pacific for internet security company Verisign.

Mr Rowley holds a PhD in Astrophysics and has also completed a Bachelor of Science (Hons).

Mr Rowley was appointed a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in May 2013.

Ian McCarthy
Ian McCarthy (Member Director)

Mr McCarthy is currently the NSW Telecommunications and Services (T&S) Branch Secretary for the Communications Electrical Plumbing Union (CEPU), he is also the chair for the NSW Communications Industry Training Advisory Board. Previously, he was a Technical Officer at Telstra Corporation Ltd and a Federal Industrial Officer for the Australian Telecommunications Employees Association.

Mr McCarthy was appointed as a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in July 2002.

Image of John Jamieson

John Jamieson (Member Director)

Prior to his retirement in 2011, Mr Jamieson was an organiser for the Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU) for over a decade. During this time he represented CPSU members working at Telstra Corporation in Victoria. He continues to take an active interest in human rights and workers’ rights in the workplace. Mr Jamieson has formerly held a range of positions in Telstra, ANZ and Mayne Nickless Ltd and was also self employed for a number of years.

Mr Jamieson was appointed as a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in February 2010.


Carol Gee (Member Director)

Ms Gee is the National Industrial/Research Officer for the communications division of the Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union (CEPU). She has responsibility for industrial, health and safety and policy issues.

Ms Gee is a qualified teacher and has taught at both primary and secondary schools. She has a Bachelor of Arts Degree, a Graduate Diploma in Industrial Relations and a Graduate Diploma in Labour Relations Law from the University of Melbourne.

Ms Gee was appointed a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in November 2011.


Michael Fisher (Member Director)

Mr Fisher is the Superannuation Policy Officer at the Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU), where he has worked closely on recent reforms to the superannuation system. Prior to this, he served as a policy officer for the Public & Commercial Services Union in the UK. Mr Fisher has also served as a trustee director on the board of the Australian Government Employees’ Superannuation Trust (AGEST) since 2010 until its merger with AustralianSuper in 2013.

Mr Fisher was appointed a director of the Trustee Board at Telstra Super in September 2012.